Turn up your radio

WP_20160514_10_02_36_Pro

Music was my first love. Never have 5 little words been more true. From my childhood memories of my mum listening to 60s music on the radio in the kitchen and dad pressing his trousers to classical music on our music centre in the lounge. To listening to our modest LP record collection including Val Doonican and Jim Reeves songs, and dancing to ‘I beg your pardon…’ at our ha’penny disco at school. Not forgetting the Christmas treat of the family Nat King Cole and Dean Martin LP. Music had always been part of my life and it started with the radio. 

Music really got a grip when it infiltrated my consciousness as puberty set in. I remember dancing around my bedroom to the love songs of Bobby Vee, Buddy Holly, Roy Orbison and Elvis; then I discovered the pop charts on a Sunday’s radio and that opened up a whole new level of excitement. It was around the time you could buy a book of lyrics and I’d buy them and sing from them. In the 70s my music world exploded with the Osmonds, David Essex, Wizzard (too many to mention) and yet more Elvis, all on my Tandy earphones.

I listened to LPs and bought 45s. I progressed to tapes and eventually CDs. I listened to radio in the car (and before you could play tapes or CDs in the car) but generally only if there was a programme such as the weekly charts on. There was one exception. Terry Wogan. In the years of Dallas I was smiling before I came downstairs to hear his latest offering of sharp wit about the poisoned dwarf; but that was about him, not the music.

The 80s were a wild time for my music tastes. I dated a guitarist and hung around with his band. My romantic tastes gave way to a more rocky taste for artists like Cher, Meatloaf and Bon Jovi. I also had my own music centre so I had control over what I listened to. But I did listen to radio regularly in the privacy of my own car.

In the early 1990s rap appeared and I hated it. Music just got weird and I stepped away from it and the radio went with it. It lost its melody and romance, and I fell out of love with it because it no longer reflected my tastes. I discovered reading instead and silently read my way through 10 years of self-help books and then another 10 of study books to get my degree.

Now I’m back. But I’m not doing it through technology. I’m listening to radio on my 1980s ghetto blaster (a present from the guitarist). Bravo for rediscovering my ears still work!

I switch Radio 2 on first thing in the morning and if I’m not doing a task of high concentration, then it can stay on all day. I have, however, tuned all my car radio quick-access buttons in and can locate local and longer distant stations. With a new found tolerance, I’m in search of music. Music has started to get better. The tastes I’ve grown up with in the 60s, 70s and 80s won’t ever leave me. My surround sound is now music supplied by the radio and not the years of self-inflicted silence.

I turn the volume up when a favourite comes on and I dance and throw shapes in my kitchen. Radio is back in my life like a long lost friend and it has welcomed me with open arms.

…………………….

This is my ‘down the years’ playlist reminding me of past loves and a few unrequited too.

Summer Breeze – sigh, fond memories of being young circa 1976 #longhotsummer

Lost in France and Sweet Caroline – cue broken heart but boy he made me laugh a lot before he made me cry.

How many tears, Bobby Vee – singing my heart out being driven along country roads when we were involved in a car accident and he wrote his car off. But apart from his lack of driving skills, he had dark secrets which I didn’t have confirmed until years later.

Off the Wall album, Michael Jackson – my first really tall and grown-up boyfriend.

Being with you – 1980s I worked with this guy but it didn’t work for me, he wasn’t a very nice man!

Come on Eileen   – 1981 ish another dodgy man who brought out the worst in me but disappeared as quickly as he arrived.

I wanna know what love is, Foreigner – this was there at our start in the 80s and was still haunting me years after he’d dumped me.

Hungry Heart – late 80s; a tall man in blue, but he left a positive mark, even after I was dumped (again)

Sacrifice, Elton John – two hearts in very separate worlds; until I moved on but it took me two years of contemplating it.

I drove all night, Cyndi L – and I would have done, but didn’t… wonder what he’s doing now?

We have all the time in the world – but sadly we didn’t. A good few years tho’ and he’s happy with someone else.

Crush, Jennifer Paige – ha, I wished…

Forget about it, Santana / You won’t find another fool like me, New Seekers – what WAS that brief encounter all about?!

Love Travels, Kathy Mattea / Breakfast at Tiffanys / Photographs & Memories, Jim Croce – priceless memories and lots of what ifs? So I’ll have to say I love you in a song … or a book.

Things have changed, Bob Dylan – when you want things to be different but struggle to accept they aren’t and never will be so you just twitch until it dies.

Truly Madly Deeply / Meggie’s theme from the Thornbirds – he’s the keeper 😉

………………………..

It may have been my first love and will possibly be my last. Hopefully there are years in me to go yet but that doesn’t mean I’ve not thought about what I’ll be played out to, way, way into the future. And I hope it will be done loudly! These are my current contenders:

I wanna go home – Eliza Dolittle

The Carnival is over Seekers

Bare necessities – Jungle Book

It will not be Forgotten – The Pierces

She’s a Lady – Tom Jones

Photographs & MemoriesJim Croce

to be continued … /

Leave a Reply

